It’s a Chilli Spring

Rain, rain go away, and don’t come back on Saturdays! I am so tired of rain on the weekends. It’s one thing to have rain during the weekday when I’m stuck inside the office, but it’s just cruel that it seems to rain only on the weekends lately. Seriously hampering my running-outside, finishing-landscaping and tennis-playing opportunities.

Anyhow, lately I had a craving for my white bean chicken chilli recipe I adapted from a few different recipes. I’ve worked on it a few times and think this is finally the version that works best. Because it’s also been a pretty chilly spring for most of the country and you too may be stuck indoors this spring, I thought you may enjoy a warm bowl of deliciousness before summer hits.

Lizzy’s White Bean Chicken Chilli

Served with a side of Corn & Jalapeno Cornbread (recipe below)

050413_Chilli Spring_1

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons vegetable oil

1 large onion chopped (about 1.5 cups)

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 cups low sodium chicken broth

5 teaspoons green Tabasco sauce

½ teaspoon kosher salt

2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts cut into bite sized strips

2 tablespoons cornmeal

1 tablespoon of cornstarch

2 cans of cannellini beans or white northern beans

Plain fat-free Greek yogurt

2 tablespoons green onions, thinly sliced (I used chives from my greenhouse in the picture above)

Directions:

1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add chopped onion and garlic to pan; cook 5 minutes or until onion is tender, stirring occasionally.

2. Add chicken to pan, then top with Tabasco and salt. Stir occasionally and cook until it turns just slightly white on all sides. (The goal is to turn it from raw to slightly cooked without overcooking or browning it at this stage because it’s going to cook longer). Once that occurs, add chicken broth to pan, bring to a boil, and then reduce heat to low.

3. Meanwhile, microwave one can of beans with the liquid from the can in a glass bowl and mash up with a fork. Add 1 can of beans (drained and rinsed) and the mashed beans to pot. Cover and let simmer for 10 minutes.

4. Stir in corn meal and cornstarch. Simmer 5 minutes or until mixture thickens, stirring frequently. Top each serving with yogurt and green onions. Add Tabasco sauce if you want it spicier. Serve with a side of cornbread.

While I remember reading this Jalapeno and Corn Cornbread recipe from Cooking Light at some point, I honestly didn’t look it up when I was making my version of the cornbread this time around. I knew I had a box of Jiffy corn muffin mix, a jalapeno and a can of corn in the pantry, so I decided to just take a risk. I know, so risky. (And now that I compare it to the Cooking Light version, I think mine is a little easier!)

Corn & Jalapeno Cornbread

050313_chilli spring_3

Ingredients:

1 box of Jiffy corn muffin mix

1 egg

1/3 C of milk

1 jalapeno, stems and seeds removed, diced

1 can of corn, rinsed and drained

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In large bowl, mix together the corn muffin mix, egg and milk.

2. Stir in the jalapeno and corn.

3. Grease or butter a ceramic or glass baking pan. I use a 1 quart oval CorningWare dish, but this is pretty flexible. You can also use a glass 9×11 or similar size casserole pan.

4. Bake for 30 minutes. Check to see if the middle is baked all the way through, and if not, keep baking for 5 minute increments.

 

Here’s what my finished meal looked like! What is one of your favorite springtime warm meals for a rainy day?

050413_ChilliSpring_2

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

