Mondays are the Worst…

…Except when you are off work!

Today is President’s Day, and while I woke up early to take Sean to the airport per the usual Monday morning routine, I came home afterward and relaxed instead of rushing to get ready for work. Well, I’m not sure I can classify my activities today as relaxing, considering the day consisted of cleaning, laundry, organizing our household finances, working on an RFP, going to spin and shopping for a shower gift, but hey, I’ll take it.

Usually, Mondays are the worst part of the week because I’m not only overcoming the normal Monday blues of going back to a full week of work, but I’m also sad that the house is significantly quieter (and messier) on Mondays. It’s one of the many adjustments I face throughout the week when Sean is on the road. This week was slightly less painful because I was off work and got to catch up on things around the house.

I was out of town this weekend to visit one of my very best friends in Miami for her big 3-0; that means Sean and I only saw each other Thursday night and Sunday afternoon – Monday morning. It was tough, especially because he will be out of town next weekend on a ski trip. We are quite the busy bees with individual travel these days! I’m grateful for those hours with him because we made those precious hours count. I didn’t have my computer out, I didn’t return calls or texts, and I didn’t want to do anything except talk to him. I’m also grateful that we are able to take these weekend trips, even if we have to travel alone sometimes.

One of the great parts about his job is that when he flies somewhere for the weekends, most of ticket price is covered by his company. And seriously, when you see the pictures of my friend’s party below, could you miss this? Not sure why I didn’t have Sean come to Miami with me – in hindsight I guess it was because he would be skiing the following weekend and would have to pack for three weeks on the road, which is not as enjoyable as it may sound.

Sarah and I have been friends since we were 12 and she was a bridesmaid in my wedding. She is the first of my close friends to take the 3-0 plunge, and she did it in style! Everyone dressed up as a Hollywood actor or actress for the big soiree. She rented out the party room in her downtown Miami skyrise, catered it, had a custom Sex & the City style cake designed, decorated the room with white lounge furniture and hired a DJ. I flew in Friday morning to decorate with some of her other friends (36 hanging paper lanterns anyone?) and I helped her with invitations and party favors too. It was an absolute blast and I’m so happy I could share in the special celebration with my best friend.

Hopefully I can fall asleep somewhat easily tonight. Usually we both struggle to fall asleep and will call each other a few times while laying in bed. Even though we are usually exhausted on Monday nights because we get up so early, we struggle to go to bed alone. Mondays are the worst. Good night!

IMG_1288 IMG_1295 IMG_1301 IMG_1303 IMG_1311

Clockwise from upper left: the room during set-up; the SATC cake; the entrance to the party; Zoey Deschanel, Sarah Jessica Parker and Princes Kate hanging out on a Friday night; Sarah’s Flirty 30 sign

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

